Saturday, February 19, 2011

The new "Gluten Free Diet"

There has been an increasingly growing problem and that is the intolerance of gluten." Gluten is a protein found in wheat, and other similar proteins found in rye, barley and oats. These proteins damage the small finger-like projections (villi) that line the small intestine. When damaged and inflamed, the villi are unable to absorb water and nutrients such as vitamins, folic acid, iron and calcium. This causes the coeliac to be susceptible to a variety of other conditions related to malabsorption, including lactose intolerance. Clinical and mucosal recovery after institution of a gluten free diet is objective evidence that the enteropathy is gluten induced.(". 

With crops being GM (genetically modified), it is hard to say what they long term affects on human digestion and life will actually be , but it can not be 
Some Signs and Symptoms:
  • chronic diarrhoea
  • abdominal distension
  • poor feeding
  • poor weight gain
  • muscle wasting.
  • chronic diarrhoea or constipation
  • vomiting
  • poor weight gain or growth
  • poor feeding
  • irritability
  • muscle wasting.
  • chronic diarrhea
  • weight loss
  • anaemia
  • weakness
  • fatigue
*There are tests and diagnostics that can determine if someone does have a wheat intolerance. Please see a doctor for professional advice, these symptoms may not be an 
indicator that you do have a gluten allergy.
So if you have a gluten allergy, here is a small list of things you need to avoid in your daily diet to stay healthy.

Always avoid
In order to avoid eating gluten, avoid food and drinks containing:
  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Durham
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Matzo meal
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt (a form of wheat)
  • Triticale
  • Wheat
Avoid unless labeled 'gluten free'
Avoid these foods unless they're labeled as gluten free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain. Also check the label to see that they're processed in a facility that is free of wheat or other contaminating products:
  • Beers
  • Breads
  • Candies
  • Cakes and pies
  • Cereals
  • Cookies
  • Crackers
  • Croutons
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meats or seafood
  • Oats
  • Pastas
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Salad dressings
    • Sauces (including soy sauce)
    • Self-basting poultry
    • Soups
    Certain grains, such as oats, can be contaminated with wheat during growing and processing stages of production. It's not clear whether oats are harmful for most people with celiac disease, but doctors generally recommend avoiding oats unless they are specifically labeled gluten free. The question of whether people eating a gluten-free diet can consume pure oat products remains a subject of scientific debate.
    Many other products that you eat or that could come in contact with your mouth may contain gluten. These include:
    • Food additives, such as malt flavoring, modified food starch and others
    • Lipstick and lip balms
    • Medications and vitamins that use gluten as a binding agent
    • Play dough
    • Toothpaste
    Cross-contamination also may occur anywhere ingredients come together, such as on a cutting board or a grill surface. You may be exposed to gluten by using the same utensils as others, such as a bread knife, or by sharing the same condiment containers — the condiment bottle may touch the bun, or a knife with bread crumbs may contaminate a margarine stick or mayonnaise jar.
    Allowed foods
    There are still many basic foods allowed in a gluten-free diet. With all foods, check to see that each is labeled gluten free or call the manufacturer to double-check.
    Grains and starches allowed in a gluten-free diet include:
    • Amaranth
    • Arrowroot
    • Buckwheat
    • Corn
    • Cornmeal
    • Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
    • Hominy grits
    • Polenta
    • Pure corn tortillas
    • Quinoa
    • Rice
    • Tapioca
    Other gluten-free foods include:
    • Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
    • Fruits
    • Most dairy products
    • Potatoes
    • Rice
    • Vegetables
    • Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits
    An increasing number of gluten-free products, such as bread and pasta, are becoming available. If you can't find them in your area, check with a celiac support group or on the Web. Gluten-free substitutes are available for many gluten-containing foods, from brownies to beer. Many specialty grocery stores sell gluten-free foods.

No comments:

Post a Comment